DIY Suede Skirt

The suede skirt is something that has been going crazy over the internet throughout the past year. Although I’m pretty sure I’m about a year behind the craze I still really wanted to make a suede skirt. I would have bought one quite a while ago but there weren’t any skirts I was happy paying $50 for, so me being me waited for almost a year before actually finding some suede while fabric shopping in Paris, to make myself the skirt I had been wanting for ages, but was too cheap to actually pay for one when I could make myself some for half the price.

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 2.30.06 pm

What you need:

  • 1&1/2 meters of suede fabric
  • an invisible zip
  • sewing machine
  • scissors
  • pins

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 3.48.58 pm

I’m going to be honest, I actually used furnishing fabric. It was pretty cheap and a whole lot easier to find than real suede. If you can find real suede and are happy to pay for it your skirt will probably look a whole lot better than mine.

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 3.38.59 pm.png

This is actually a really simple skirt, I used an a-line skirt pattern which I altered to how i wanted. I shortened it, and cut the front in two to create a paneled front. I also added a waistband which you cant actually see in any of the photos as the skirt is very high-waisted. If you don’t already have a skirt pattern  make your own pattern.

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 4.04.34 pm.png

I also added a waistband which is very simple and only needs to be a rectangular piece of fabric twice the desired width and 1-2 inches longer than your waist. I also didn’t hem the fabric, I quite liked the ‘rustic’ look. Suede doesn’t fray so this is an option, if you prefer a cleaner look you can always make your pattern slightly longer than you want it so you can hem the skirt later on.

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 4.05.12 pm.png

Steps:

  1. First of all cut out your pattern, altering it to how you wish. Once you have gotten your desired pattern cut out the fabric. You should have a back panel, two front panels and a waistband. Sew the two front panels together to make the front of the skirt,
  2. Okay, so now you have your front and back sew them together on one side. DO NOT sew both sides as you will need to insert a zip into one of the sides.
  3. Sew the waistband along the top of the skirt.
  4. This is probably the hardest part of the skirt, attaching the zip. Now I would recommend using an invisible zip but any zip will do. Use a zip about 20cm long and sew it into the side of your skirt. If you don’t know how to sew an invisible zip you can use the link.
  5. You can hem the skirt if you want to, but you can do as I did and leave it un-hemmed.

And that’s it! Thanks for reading this is my first post so I’m really excited. Happy sewing.

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 4.25.34 pm

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 4.25.57 pm.png

 

Leave a Reply

